Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 17th, 2009

Good morning,

7.09
The one thing I would like to focus on from this episode is food. Yep go figure, eh? On a weight loss show they want to talk about food. Hmph. So we have a great chef, Rocco DiSpirito, who has brought forth three classic dishes that we all love: pizza, cheeseburger and burritos. Great stuff, eh? Well, low and behold each of these wonderful items packs a caloric punch (as if we didn’t already know this). For this challenge, the contestants on the Biggest Loser have to come up with healthy alternatives. I don’t have one for each of the items but I will go out on a limb and share with you my tip for for burgers. Shhhh be very quiet it’s a huge secret ……… POULTRY!! Yeah I know, not much of a  secret at all. For all you beef lovers out there, I hear ya. I love my succulent red meat too, guys. But if done right, turkey or chicken burgers can be made to taste awesome.

Here is what I do per pound of lean or extra-lean ground turkey or chicken:

  • Add one raw egg
  • Add 1/2 tbsp of Worcestershire Sauce
  • Add 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • Add 3/4 tbsp onion powder
  • Add 1 tsp parsley flakes
  • Add salt & pepper to taste

You can grill, broil or even pan fry these burgers. They will remain moist and juicy. Toast the whole wheat buns and use condiments sparingly. Add some veggies to the burgers (lettuce, tomato) and a side salad and you’re all set. Enjoy!

7.10
How y’all doing?! My guess is if I had walked in on the Black Team after the ’24 Hours of Luxury’ they won and asked them that, they might not have responded to kindly.

See folks, in this week’s episode the teams faced off in an interesting challenge that (once again) the Black Team won. Or did they? From my point of view, this is actually the one prize that is worth losing on the Biggest Loser. 24 Hours of Luxury. Basically, it means you are pampered and let loose on the world for 24 hours. Folks, I know that most of us aren’t partaking in some mass-media fueled adventure to gain a healthy lifestyle, but we are all faced with these options. In some cases, a lot more often than we would like – every Friday and Saturday night ring a bell? In fact, for some of us we may face temptations daily as those around us may not be sensitive to our desires and what we are trying to achieve.

So what do we do? Well, I don’t have some magic mantra to give you that will wipe away all cravings and peer pressures that come along. If I did, I would have accomplished a heck of a lot more by now and would have sold the sucker for a mint! But alas, we live in the real world with real problems and real, oh so very real, temptation. When faced with this, as I was last night (I was craving pizza, Chinese food, anything fried really), we really have to stay focused. 

However, I have a different slant you might want to take. When I say you have stay focused, I want you to focus in on what you will feel like after you consume all those items you are craving. Be it chocolate, pizza, beer, wine, pogos, french fries, double big macs, whatever. How will you feel about things when you look back at what you have just eaten. Not so good, eh? You’ve felt it before, right? Chances are you can feel it right now as you are reading this. Just a fantastic feeling eh? I’m kidding. But imagining this guilt can be a great tool to use when trying to avoid temptations and peer pressure. I am not saying that it is easy folks, I know for a fact it isn’t. I’m living proof, remember?

Just keep it in mind whenever you are faced with a situation in which you are tempted. Look into your own future and how will you feel afterward if you indulge. If you are okay with it, go for it. If not – well, you know what to do.

Cheers,

Coach Joe

Read Full Post »